Who’s Resigned From Johnson’s Government So Far

This showd Prime Minister Boris Johnson with his eyes closed looking pained.
Prime Minister Boris Johnson is facing a spate of resignations

Following Prime Minister Boris Johnson admitting that he promoted Chris Pincher to Deputy Chief Whip, despite knowing of sexual assault allegations against him, several Ministers and Parliamentary Private Secretaries have resigned. The list below will be updated as required.

  1. Rishi Sunak – Chancellor of the Exchequer
  2. Sajid Javid – Secretary of State for Health and Social Care (Health Secretary)
  3. Andrew Murrison – Trade Envoy to Morocco
  4. Bim Afolami – Vice Chairman of the Conservative Party
  5. Saqib Bhatti – Parliamentary Private Secretary (PPS)* to Department for Health and Social Care (DHSC)
  6. Jonathan Gullis – PPS to Secretary of State for Northern Ireland
  7. Nicola Richards – PPS to Department for Transport (DfT)
  8. Virginia Crosbie – PPS to Wales Offioce
  9. Alex Chalk QC – Solicitor General
  10. Theo Clarke – Trade Envoy to Kenya
  11. Laura Trott – PPS to the Department for Transport
  12. Will Quince – Minister for Children and Families
  13. Robin Walker – Minister of State for School Standards (School’s Minister)
  14. John Glen MP – Economic Secretary to the Treasury (Minister of State Position)
  15. Felicity Buchan – PPS to Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, (BEIS), Kwasi Kwateng
  16. Victoria Atkins – Minister of State for Prisons and Probation at the Ministry of Justice.
  17. Jo Churchill – Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Agri-Innovation and Climate Adaptation at DEfRA
  18. Stuart Andrew – Minister for Housing
  19. Selaine Saxby – PPS to Chief Secretary of HM Treasury
  20. David Johnston – PPS at the Department for Education
  21. Claire Coutinho, PPS at HM Treasury
  22. Kemi Badenoch – Local Government and Equalities Minister
  23. Neil O’Brien – Levelling Up Minister
  24. Lee Rowley – Business Minister at BEIS
  25. Julia Lopez – Culture Minister at Department for Culture, Media and Sport
  26. Alex Burghart – Skills Minister at The Department for Education
  27. Mims Davies – Employment Minister at the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP)
  28. Duncan Baker – PPS for the Department Levelling Up, Housing and Communities
  29. Fay Jones – WILL resign as PPS to Leader of the Commons IF Boris Johnson fails to leave office by tomorrow.
  30. Rachel Maclean – Minister for Safeguarding
  31. Mark Logan – PPS to Northern Ireland Office
  32. Craig Williams – PPS to HM Treasury
  33. Mike Freer – Minister for Exports and Minister for Equalities
  34. Mark Fletcher – PPS to the Secretary of State for Business, Energy Innovation and Strategy
  35. Sarah Britcliffe – PPS at the Department for Education
  36. Ruth Edwards- PPS to the Scotland Office
  37. Peter Gibson – PPS to the Department for International Trade (DfIT)
  38. David Duguid – Fisheries Envoy
  39. James Sunderland – PPS to The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
  40. Jacob Young – PPS at The Department for Levelling Up
  41. David Mundell – Trade Envoy to New Zealand
  42. Michael Gove – SACKED as Levelling Up and Housing Secretary after advising Boris Johnson to resign
  43. Danny Kruger – PPS to Department Levelling Up, Housing and Communities
  44. Simon Hart – Secretary of State for Wales
  45. Edward Argar- Minister of State for Health
  46. James Daly – PPS at The Department for Work and Pensions (DWP)
  47. Gareth Davies – PPS at The Department for Health and Social Care (DHSC)
  48. Dr James Davies – PPS at The Department for Health and Social Care (DHSC)
  49. Brandon Lewis- Secretary of State for Northern Ireland
  50. Helen Whately – Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury
  51. Damian Hinds – Security Minister
  52. George Freeman – Minister for Science, Research and Innovation
  53. Guy Opperman – Pensions Minister
  54. Chris Philip – Minister for Tech and Digital Economy
  55. James Cartilage – Courts Minister
  56. Michelle Donelan – Education Secretary
  57. Rebecca PoW – Environment Minister
  58. Lord Greenhalgh – Fire Minister

*A Parliamentary Private Secretary (PPS) is a Member of Parliament (MP) in the United Kingdom who acts as an unpaid assistant to a minister or shadow minister. They are chosen by Ministers and act as their eyes and ears in Parliament.

Black Isle Journalism is a totally independent news organisation without corporate backing or pudhy investors. We rely on the goodwill of our readers to help pay our staff and run the site. If you’d like to support us, please consider donating or sponsoring us. In the age of client journalism, Independent Journalism is even more important. If you’re on the mobile site please click HERE to donate.


  • Thanks for the update Alex.
    I wonder if you will have to keep on re-doing the post throughout the afternoon and evening!
    18 + 148 Conservative MPs who voted against PM Johnson in the Vote of Confidence + those (how many?) who have withdrawn their confidence in him since.
    His government looks very shaky indeed, despite his fighting talk at PMQ.